Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Fri 14 Feb 2020 | 07:17

It's all change for Reds in Buenos Aires

Reds head coach Brad Thorn interviewed ahead of their clash with Jaguares
Fri 14 Feb 2020 | 07:17
It's all change for Reds in Buenos Aires

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Reds have made five changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s Round Three Super Rugby encounter with the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

Jordan Petaia has been ruled-out, after suffering a shoulder injury during Wednesday’s training session and will be further assessed in Brisbane.

Following two strong performances off the bench, Hunter Paisami will start at outside centre in Petaia’s absence.

Chris Feauai-Sautia will play his first game of 2020 after being named on the wing, as University of Queensland flyer Jock Campbell moves to fullback.

Angus Blyth has earned his second start at lock this season, seeing Lukhan Salakaia-Loto shift to the back row.

There are three further changes to the reserves, with Angus Scott-Young and Bryce Hegarty set to come-on as replacements this weekend in Argentina.

While Harry Hockings is set play his first game this year after recovering from a broken hand that required surgery during the pre-season.

“We’re gutted for Jordan,” Reds coach Brad Thorn said.

“He’ll return home with the squad and will be looked at for further diagnosis. It’s personally frustrating for him and also for us as a group on the field.

“We’ve got a tough opposition again in the Jaguares. They’re last year’s finalists and a slick outfit so they’ll be a tough opponent.

“We want to take the learnings from last week and the week before. We’ve had two tight games and we’re looking to finish this tour with something to bring back with us,” Thorn added.

The Reds return home next week to host their first match at Suncorp Stadium in 2020, when they play the Sunwolves on Saturday, February 22.

Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Henry Speight, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (captain), 6 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 5 Angus Blyth, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 Jean-Pierre Smith.
Replacements: 16 Sean Farrell, 17 Dane Zander, 18 Josh Nasser, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Isaac Lucas, 23 Bryce Hegarty.

Date: Saturday, February 15
Venue: Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 20.00 (23.00 GMT; 09.00, Sunday, February 16 Brisbane time)
Referee: Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
Assistant referees: Pablo Deluca (Argentina), Martin Cordoba (Argentina)
TMO: Santiago Borsani (Argentina)

Video Spacer

PV: 449

It's All Change For Reds In Buenos Aires | Rugby365