Thu 7 Mar 2019 | 07:18

Jaguares send B-Team into Lions' den

Jaguares send B-Team into Lions' den
Thu 7 Mar 2019 | 07:18
Jaguares send B-Team into Lions' den

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Jaguares coach Gonzalo Quesada has named a virtual B-Team for his side’s opening match of their first South African Super Rugby trip for 2019.

The Jaguares face the Lions in a Round Four match at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Several injuries and a taxing schedule resulted in Quesada making 11 changes for Saturday’s outing in Johannesburg.

Tetaz Chaparro, Agustin Creevy, Gonzalo Bertranou and Jerónimo de La Fuente are all on a list of players with ‘niggles’.

The Jaguares also have a very demanding travel schedule.

After Saturday’s outing against the Lions, they face the Stormers in Cape Town, before heading back to Buenos Aires – where they will host the Chiefs – and then return to South Africa for a second trip that will see them take on the Bulls and Sharks.

They have a bye between the Stormers and Chiefs games.

There is also the ‘request’ from national coach Mario Ledesma to rest some players.

The result is that of the team that beat the Blues last weekend, only Guido Petti and Marcos Kremer remain in the forwards, and Joaquín Díaz Bonilla and Matías Moroni in the backs.

Joaquín Tuculet takes over from Jeronimo de la Fuente as the captain.

Jaguares: 15 Joaquín Tuculet (captain), 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Juan Pablo Zeiss.
Replacements: 16 Gaspar Baldunciel, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Tomas Lavanini, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Juan Cruz Mallia, 23 Matias Orlando.

Date: Saturday, March 9
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 15.05 (13.05 GMT; 10.05 Argentina time)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Griffin Colby (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

PV: 904

Jaguares Send B-team Into Lions' Den | Rugby365