Tue 16 Apr 2019 | 02:57

New midfield partnership for Sharks

New midfield partnership for Sharks
Tue 16 Apr 2019 | 02:57
New midfield partnership for Sharks

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has named his team to face the Reds in a Super Rugby Round Ten clash in Durban on Friday.

It’s been a tough few days of introspection for the Sharks following their 17-51 defeat to the Jaguares and Du Preez has made a few changes to his team.

In the backline, Kobus van Wyk replaces Lukhanyo Am and forms a new midfield partnership with Andre Esterhuizen.

Lwazi Mvovo moves across to the wing position vacated by Makazole Mapimpi with Sibusiso Nkosi returning to the side in the No.14 jersey.

Both Am and Mapimpi have been rested for this match.

Meanwhile, Springboks Coenie Oosthuizen and Tendai Mtawarira return to the starting line-up.

The Springbok pair replace Juan Schoeman and Thomas du Toit, who moves to the bench. The other change in the pack sees Jacques Vermeulen back from a well-earned break and he is in at flank for Luke Stringer.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Kobus van Wyk, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder (captain), 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Fez Mbatha, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Aphelele Fassi.

Date: Friday, April 19
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 15.05 (13.05 GMT; 23.05 Brisbane time)
Referee: Frederico Anselmi
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Glen Jackson
TMO: Marius Jonker

PV: 1927

New Midfield Partnership For Sharks | Rugby365