RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
Thu 15 Oct 2020 | 11:56

Pumas get 'new' captain and many changes

Pumas get 'new' captain and many changes
Thu 15 Oct 2020 | 11:56
Pumas get 'new' captain and many changes

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse revealed the captain that will lead his young team into battle against Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday.


Lock Pieter Jansen van Vuren has been named captain for the Super Rugby Unlocked Round Two encounter.

The team shows 10 changes from the side that lost 31-53 to the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein last week.

Stonehouse told @rugby365 that Jansen van Vuren would have been the captain in Bloemfontein, had it not been for an injury that prevented him from playing against the Cheetahs.

“We have huge expectations of him,” Stonehouse said of the lock that ironically captained Griquas before his move to Nelspruit.

“We have a very young team – with six or seven guys in their first season of ‘Currie Cup’ rugby – and we will rely on him to provide guidance to the youngsters,” the Pumas coach added.

“Griquas are loaded with players who have heaps of Currie Cup experience.


“The man has to keep the youngsters together, but we have high expectations of him.”

Injuries to two key players – last week’s stand-in captain Ryan Nell and burly lock Le Roux Roets – forced Stonehouse‚Äôs hand.

The only players who retained their places are Devon Williams (fullback), Neil Maritz (left wing), Eddie Fouche (flyhalf), Ginter Smuts (scrumhalf), Willie Engelbrecht (flank), Ruan Kramer and Morgan Naude (both props).

Wayne van der Bank moved from outside centre to No.12 to cover for the injured Nell. Erich Cronje starts in the No.13 jersey.


Etienne Taljaard starts on the right win in place of Luther Obi

Willie Engelbrecht moves from No.8 to flank in place of Kwanda Dimaza, with Jeandre Rudolph at No.8.

Francois Kleinhans replaces Daniel Maartens on the other flank.

Jansen van Vuren replaces Cameron Lindsay at lock, while Darrien Landsburg comes in for the injured Roets in the other lock position.

The final change is at hooker, where Simon Westraadt replaces Marko Janse van Rensburg, Hendrik van Schoor on the bench as cover for the No.2 position.

Westraadt also played for Griquas for many years, 70-odd games, and will be very familiar with Kimberley.

Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Etienne Taljaard, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Neil Maritz, 10 Eduard Fouche, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Willem Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Darrien Landsburg, 3 Ruan Cornelius Kramer, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude.
Replacements: 16 Hendrik van Schoor, 17 Liam Hendriks, 18 Heath Backhouse, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Dian Badenhorst, 21 Daniel Marais, 22 Aliqhayiya Mgijima, 23 Dewald Maritz.

Date: Saturday, October 17
Venue: Kimberley Stadium, Kimberley
Kick-off: 16.30 (14.30 GMT)
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant referees: Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse
TMO: Cwengile Jadezweni

Video Spacer
PV: 21
Pumas get 'new' captain and many changes | Rugby365