Wed 12 Jun 2019 | 09:37

Rebels rush Wallaby stars back for decider

Rebels rush Wallaby stars back for decider
Wed 12 Jun 2019 | 09:37
Rebels rush Wallaby stars back for decider

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Rebels have rushed back a pair of Wallabies for their must-win match Round 18 Super Rugby showdown with the Chiefs on Friday.

The Halfback pair of Will Genia (scrumhalf) and Quade Cooper (flyhalf) returned to the starting XV.

The duo is two of six changes to the Rebels starting side which will look to secure a maiden place in the play-offs with a win over their New Zealand rivals.

* Also read: Genia plays his cards close to his chect

The side will welcome back Anaru Rangi, Jermaine Ainsley, Luke Jones and Marika Koroibete to starting positions.

Hooker Jordan Uelese, prop Sam Talakai, scrumhalf Michael Ruru and flyhalf Matt To’omua will all start on the bench this week.

The Melburnians will be without lock Adam Coleman and wing Jack Maddocks, with both succumbing to a shoulder and knee/ calf injury respectively.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty (captain), 14 Reece Hodge, 13 Tom English, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Anaru Rangi, 1 Tetera Faulkner.
Replacements: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Matt To’omua. 23 Campbell Magnay.

Date: Friday, June 14
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 19.45 (21.45 NZ time; 09.45 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand), Graham Cooper (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

PV: 716

Rebels Rush Wallaby Stars Back For Decider | Rugby365