Tue 9 Apr 2019 | 09:30

Rebels star free to face Stormers

Rebels star free to face Stormers
Tue 9 Apr 2019 | 09:30
Rebels star free to face Stormers
SHARE

DISCIPLINARY UPDATE: Rebels centre Bill Meakes will be available for selection when his side face the struggling Stormers on Friday.

Meakes appeared at a SANZAAR judicial committee hearing, after being cited for foul play during his side’s 42-15 win over the Sunwolves in Melbourne on Saturday, April 6.

A SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing has found Meakes guilty of contravening Law 9.13: A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously, however find that the Red Card threshold had not been met for the offence, and subsequently issued a Warning.

Meakes contravened Law 9.13: A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously, in the 66th minute of the match between the Rebels and Sunwolves.

The SANZAAR Judicial Hearing held via video conference on Monday, April 8 was heard by Michael Heron QC – Chairman, De Wet Barry, Chris Smith.

In his finding, the Judicial Committee Chairman Michael Heron QC ruled the following:

“Having conducted a detailed review of the available evidence, in particular additional footage showing a close up of the incident, and hearing from the player and considering submissions from his legal representative, Tim North QC, the Judicial Committee upheld the citing of an act of foul play under Law 9.13.”

“The Judicial Committee however found that the act of foul play did not meet the Red Card threshold. On review of footage not available to the citing commissioner, it was clear the initial point of contact was below the shoulder line with use of the arms in an attempted wrap. The player’s shoulder rose up post the initial contact and may have contacted the neck of the tackled player although footage was inconclusive. There was no evidence of contact with the head of the tackled player. The citing was warranted on the evidence available to the Citing Commissioner but with the further evidence (including additional footage, player evidence and medical evidence) contact above the shoulder line was not able to be clearly demonstrated. The action of the Player in tackling a vulnerable opponent at the shoulder line and rising up was dangerous and as a result a Warning would be issued to the Player (under Rule 8.5).”

“The player is free to resume playing immediately.”

 

PV: 1053


Rebels Star Free To Face Stormers | Rugby365