RugbyPass Match Centre
Tue 4 Jun 2019 | 01:09

Sharks name 25-man touring squad

Sharks name 25-man touring squad
Tue 4 Jun 2019 | 01:09
Sharks name 25-man touring squad

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Sharks leave for Argentina to take on the Jaguares in our penultimate pool match of the 2019 Super Rugby campaign.

Following Saturday’s match, the Sharks travel to Cape Town to take on Stormers before the start of the knock-out rounds.

With the congestion in the South African pool as it is, both of these intra-conference matches take on huge importance as the jockeying for positions reaches its climactic flourish.

Head coach Rob du Preez has named a 25-man squad that travels to Argentina, taking 14 forwards and 11 backs. Akker van der Merwe remains on the injured list and has not been included, but good news is the possible return to play for Craig Burden who has been named as the second hooker along with Kerron van Vuuren.

Injuries have also ruled out Beast Mtawarira and Cameron Wright whose replacement on tour is the exciting scrumhalf Zee Makhabela who made his debut off the bench against the Hurricanes at Kings Park on Saturday.

Jeremy Ward, who has led the  Sharks XV in the SuperSport Challenge has also been included amongst the backs.

Sharks squad:

Forwards: Coenie Oosthuizen, Craig Burden, Daniel du Preez, Hyron Andrews, Jacques Vermeulen, Jean-Luc Du Preez, John-Hubert Meyer, Juan Schoeman, Kerron van Vuuron, Mzamo Majola, Ruan Botha, Ruben van Heerden, Thomas du Toit, Tyler Paul.

Backs: Louis Schreuder (captain), Andre Esterhuizen, Aphelele Fassi, Curwin Bosch, Jeremy Ward, Kobus van Wyk, Lukhanyo Am, Makazole Mapimpi, Robert du Preez Jnr., Sbu Nkosi, Zee Makhabela.

PV: 1869

Sharks Name 25-man Touring Squad | Rugby365