Get Newsletter

Super Rugby Team of the Week: Round One

OPINION: The Stormers lead the way with three players in our Team of the Week for Round One of Super Rugby 2020.


John Dobson’s side hammered the Hurricanes 27-0 at Newlands with scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies being the star of the show.

There are eight other teams represented in our selection. They are the Crusaders, Sharks, Jaguares, Blues, Reds, Chiefs, Sunwolves and Brumbies.

Story continues below…

Team of the Week – Round One:

15 – David Havili (Crusaders)
He was a real handful out wide with his speed and strength. He always made good metres with ball in hand and he broke through several tackles. His goal-kicking was good as well.
Bubbling under: Tom Banks (Brumbies)

14 – Sibusiso Nkosi (Sharks)
The bulls found it hard to contain the Bok wing with his power and speed. He also scored a great opportunistic try in the second half.
Bubbling under: Will Jordan (Crusaders)

13 – Braydon Ennor (Crusaders)
He did not look out of place at all in the midfield. He was solid on defence and had a good eye for space. He scored two tries as well.
Bubbling under: Matias Moroni (Jaguares)

12 – Juan Cruz Mallia (Jaguares)
He was a brick wall on defence, and he caused plenty of problems for the Lions in that midfield channel when he ran at them with the ball.
Bubbling under: James O’Connor (Reds)


11 – Rieko Ioane (Blues)
He looked back to his best with a number telling runs in his team’s defeat to the Chiefs. He crossed the tryline twice during the game.
Bubbling under: Mark Nawaqanitawase (Waratahs)

10 – Domingo Miotti (Jaguares)
The replacement flyhalf produced a masterclass against the Lions after coming onto the field early in the game for Joaquin Diaz Bonilla. He scored 18 of his team’s 38 points.
Bubbling under: Aaron Cruden (Chiefs)

9 – Herschel Jantjies (Stormers)
He was sensational in his team’s 27-0 win over the Hurricanes. He kicked off the scoring spree with a pin-point cross-field kick for Sergeal Petersen’s try and produced great intercept for his team’s third try.
Bubbling under: Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Chiefs)

Story continues below…

Video Spacer

8 – Harry Wilson (Reds)
He was a monster with the ball in open play. He got his team over the gain line on several occasions and put in a few big hits on defence as well.
Bubbling under: Sam Cane (Chiefs)

7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers)
His work rate around the park was exceptional and he got into the Hurricanes’ faces with is physicality on attack and defence.
Bubbling under: Marcos Kremer (Jaguares)

6 – Lachlan Boshier (Chiefs)
He was immense in his team’s win against the Blues. He dominated the breakdown battle, winning several penalties and he put in a truckload of tackles as well.
Bubbling under: Jaco Coetzee (Stormers)

5 – Michael Stolberg (Sunwolves)
He was a colossus up front for the Sunwolves in their win over the Rebels. He tackled like a man possessed and had a few strong carries as well.
Bubbling under: Mitch Brown (Chiefs)

4 – Darcy Swain (Brumbies)
He did not shy away from the physical exchanges against the Reds. He gave the Brumbies some muscle up front and it showed around the park.
Bubbling under: Patrick Tuipulotu (Blues)

3 – Thomas du Toit (Sharks)
He produced a great all-round performance against the Bulls. He made his presence felt in open play, especially at the breakdowns.
Bubbling under: Frans Malherbe (Stormers)

2 – Samisini Taukei’aho (Chiefs)
He showed great energy in open play for the Chiefs and scored two tries from line-out drives. His defensive work was awesome as well.
Bubbling under: Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers)

1 – Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)
He terrorised his opposite number in the scrums and carried the ball with great power in open play. He was one of his team’s four try-scorers against the Hurricanes.
Bubbling under: Mayco Vivas (Jaguares)

Video Spacer

Our individual selections:

Jan de Koning XV: 15 David Havili; 14 Sibusiso Nkosi; 13 Lukhanyo Am; 12 James O’Connor, 11 Mark Nawaqanitawase; 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Mitch Brown, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Paul Dobson XV: 15 David Havili, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Sam Cane, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Michael Stolberg, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Warren Fortune XV: 15 David Havili, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 Juan Cruz Mallia, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Michael Stolberg, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Samisini Taukei’aho, 1 Steven Kitshoff.


Write A Comment