Wed 17 Apr 2019 | 07:42

Wallaby flyer back to face Sharks

Wallaby flyer back to face Sharks
Wed 17 Apr 2019 | 07:42
Wallaby flyer back to face Sharks

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s match against the Sharks at Kings Park in Durban.

After being rested last week in accordance with Rugby Australia’s workload management policy, Sefa Naivalu is back and takes his place on the wing.

Prop Harry Hoopert will earn his first Super Rugby start, while Angus Scott-Young has been promoted off the bench and into the No.6 jersey seeing Lukhan Salakaia-Loto shift back to lock.

There are a further three changes to the reserves, as JP Smith and Harry Hockings drop to the bench this week.

After making his Queensland debut in South Africa four years ago against the Bulls in Pretoria, University of Queensland loose forward Adam Korczyk could potentially play his first game of 2019 after being added to Queensland’s 23.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’ve arrived in Durban in preparation for a tough challenge in playing the Sharks.

“After last week’s result, they’ll be hungry and looking to put in a big performance in front of their home fans.

“It’s great to have Sefa back. He was missed last week. After sitting out against the Bulls, he’s ready to rip in.

“Harry Hoopert gets an opportunity to start for the first time. It’s reward for his hard work and as a group we congratulate this achievement.

“Apart from Scott Higginbotham, the starting forward pack all played Queensland Under-20s with each other. They’ve all worked and grown together since then. It goes to show the strength and importance of the Queensland pathway,” said Thorn.

Reds: 15 Hamish Stewart, 14 Sefa Naivalu, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi (captain), 11 Jack Hardy, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 Harry Hoopert.
Replacements: 16 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 17 JP Smith, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Duncan Paia’aua, 23 Jock Campbell.

Date: Friday, April 19
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 15.05 (13.05 GMT; 23.05 Brisbane time)
Referee: Frederico Anselmi
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Glen Jackson
TMO: Marius Jonker

Video Spacer

PV: 957

Wallaby Flyer Back To Face Sharks | Rugby365