Thu 21 Mar 2019 | 08:11

Waratahs change two for Crusaders clash

Waratahs change two for Crusaders clash
Thu 21 Mar 2019 | 08:11
Waratahs change two for Crusaders clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Waratahs return to the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday to take on reigning Super Rugby champions Crusaders in Round Six of Super Rugby.

Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has named two changes to his starting XV in Nick Phipps and Cam Clark. Phipps made his 2019 Super Rugby return off the bench last weekend after missing the first three games due to a calf injury, with Clark this week getting his start on the right wing.

Karmichael Hunt returns to the squad on the bench, after suffering a hamstring strain which ruled him out of the Brumbies last weekend.

Also returning to the 23-man squad is Michael Wells, who recently arrived back in Australia after competing on the international circuit with the Australian Men’s Sevens squad.

In line to potentially make his debut for the Waratahs is Newcastle’s Andrew Tuala, who joined the squad this year and has formed part of the two recent NSW Emerging Waratahs teams.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Tuala, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Lachlan Swinton, 20 Michael Wells, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Karmichael Hunt.

Date: Saturday, March 23
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.45 (08.45 GMT; 21.45 NZ time)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Egon Seconds (South Africa), Paul Williams (Japan)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)

Video Spacer

PV: 190

Waratahs Change Two For Crusaders Clash | Rugby365