Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Wed 1 Sep 2010 | 12:00

Ikeys lose out at the death

Ikeys lose out at the death
Wed 1 Sep 2010 | 12:00
Ikeys lose out at the death

FNB UCT suffered a gut-wrenching 30-32 WP Super League loss to Victorians at the Danie Craven Stadium on Wednesday evening.

The visitors started brightly and ran into a comfortable early lead, only to allow their opponents back into the game through some bad decisions and poor discipline.

But the Ikeys, who were 23-24 down going into the final ten minutes, looked to have sealed a victory away from home when they scored and went ahead again – only for Vics, Maties’ second team, to steal the win in the final act of play.

UCT’s tries were scored by backs Tiger Bax and Jannie Bester and hooker Matthew Page, with Bester’s late score putting his team ahead by 30-27.

Vics, however, kept plugging away at the Ikeys’ defence – deciding against kicking for poles, which would have led to a draw, and going for touch instead which eventually paid off.

Ikeys coach, Kevin Foote, was bitterly disappointed and he told afterwards: “It was a very frustrating and immature display in the final minutes of the game, the game was well won.”

The Ikeys have just one fixture remaining in the 2010 Super League season – against Helderberg.

The scorers:

For Victorians:
Combrinck, Turner, Nel, Light
Cons: Combrinck 3
Pens: Combrinck 2

For UCT:
Bax, Page, Bester
Cons: Cohen 2, D Mallett
Pens: Cohen 2, Mallett

The teams:

Steinhoff Victorians: 15 Ruan Combrinck, 14 Henry Turner, 13 Ryan Nel, 12 Stephan van der Merwe, 11 Nathanael Pekeur, 10 Monty Rowher, 9 Gideon Strydom, 8 Kobus Kriel, 7 Jacobus van Wyk, 6 Boetie Britz, 5 Chris Voster, 4 Hannes van Wyk, 3 Suan Havenga, 2 Gareth Light, 1 Kenny Langeveldt.
Replacements: 16 Dean Morgan, 17 Kyle Conlin, 18 Japie Wiese, 19 Yrin Belelie, 20 Koos Eksteen, 21 AN Other, 22 Rohan Steyl.

FNB UCT: 15 Ricky Rijs, 14 Paul Cohen, 13 Tiger Bax, 12 André Coetzer, 11 Jannie Bester, 10 Pete Haw, 9 Scot Watermeyer, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Ryan Jans, 6 Don Armand (captain), 5 Martin Muller, 4 André Goosen, 3 Dylan Rogers, 2 Matt Page, 1 Ash Wells.
Replacements: 16 Mark Goosen, 17 Mike Posthumus, 18 Grant Kemp, 19 Brad Bosman, 20 James Tatham, 21 Nick Farrer, 22 Doug Mallett.

Referee: Jason Jaftha

PV: 245

Ikeys Lose Out At The Death | Rugby365