Get Newsletter

Willemse returns to midfield role for Ulster clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Stormers Director of Rugby John Dobson has revealed his team to face Ulster in a United Rugby Championship Round 13 match on Saturday.


Loose forward Hacjivah Dayimani will earn his 50th Stormers cap in the clash at Cape Town Stadium.

The Stormers will be looking to make it back-to-back wins when they face the Irish side.

The return of Warrick Gelant at fullback sees Damian Willemse move back to inside centre, with Dan du Plessis on his outside in midfield.

Dayimani starts at blindside flank, with Willie Engelbrecht on the other side of the scrum.

In the front row, Neethling Fouche and Joseph Dweba come into the starting line-up, with the experienced Frans Malherbe, JJ Kotze and Leon Lyons the front-row replacements on a bench that also features Adre Smith, Ben-Jason Dixon and Marcel Theunissen.


Dobson said that his team is looking to back up their win against Edinburgh last week against a tough Ulster outfit.

“We showed good attacking intent against Edinburgh, but we know we can be far more accurate and we will certainly need to be against Ulster.

“It is another opportunity for us to move our game forward and we know we will get great support as ever at Cape Town Stadium,” he said.

Dobson congratulated Dayimani on reaching his milestone.


“Hacjivah has been a phenomenon for us over the last three seasons and gives us a real point of difference.

“Hopefully the team can deliver a good performance and make it a memorable occasion for him,” he said.

Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Brok Harris.
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Marcel Theunissen, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Ben Loader.

Date: Saturday, March 30
Venue: Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.15 (17.15 UK & Ireland time; 17.15 GMT)
Referee: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs (South Africa) and Stephan Geldenhuys (South Africa)
TMO: Colin Brett (Scotland)

Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Steelers | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment