Fri 10 Aug 2018 | 10:34

World Rugby hall of Fame

World Rugby hall of Fame
Fri 10 Aug 2018 | 10:34
World Rugby hall of Fame

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Five legends will be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame in 2018.

The list includes two Southern Hemisphere legends namely New Zealand’s Bryan Williams and Australia’s Stephen Larkham. The other are Liza Burgess (Wales), Ronan O’Gara (Ireland) and Pierre Villepreux.

According to World Rugby, this year’s inductees will be honoured at a special ceremony in Rugby, England, September 12, while current Wallabies assistant coach Larkham, due to his involvement in The Rugby Championship, will receive his accolade at a special ceremony on August 17 in Sydney, the day before Australia’s Bledisloe Cup opener with New Zealand.

These five inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 142 since it began in 2006.

World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Hall of Fame importantly acknowledges and celebrates the true legends of the game, celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions throughout their careers while embodying rugby’s values.

“On behalf of the rugby family, we would like to congratulate this year’s five new inductees, Stephen Larkham, Ronan O’Gara, Pierre Villepreux, Byran Williams and Liza Burgess as they are recognised and honoured for their immense contributions to rugby.

“Each have left their mark on the sport and through their achievements and character, inspired millions to play and support rugby worldwide, and we look forward to honouring them in the coming weeks.”

World Rugby Hall of Fame 2018 inductees:

138 – Stephen Larkham (Australia)
139 – Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
140 – Pierre Villepreux (France)
141 – Bryan Williams (New Zealand)
142 – Liza Burgess (Wales)


PV: 724

World Rugby Hall Of Fame - Australia | Rugby365