Sun 19 Aug 2018 | 10:26

Landbou's Astonishing Win

Landbou's Astonishing Win
Sun 19 Aug 2018 | 10:26
Landbou's Astonishing Win

Oakdale went down to Boland Landbou, in both senses. They must have travelled in great hope, because all the prematch signs suggested a comfortable victory. It certainly did not happen.

There was a big victory all right, but it belonged to Boland Landbou. The smaller plaas beat the bigger plaas 56-19. The next highest score by a team in this series is 38, scored by Boland Landbou in 2012.

It was astounding from start to finish. At half-time Boland Landbou were already leading 32-0. Oakdale gathered them selves in the second half but did not come to catching the boys from Agter-Paarl.

Oakdale kicked off and Boland Landbou charged back. Boland Landbou were attacking directly but Oakdale cleared with a long kick downfield which fullback Dean Reichert recovered with difficulty.

The first try was a long-distance affair as Sebastian de Klerk ran some 65 metres to score it.

The second try came from a line-out after Oakdale had passed into touch. Schalk Bezuidenhout lobbed a pass, Hen-Ko Smuts charged, Thys Kitshoff carried it on an prop RJ van der Merwe scored. Gavin Mills, whose all-round scrumhalf play was excellent, converted. 12-0.

Mills goaled a penalty and then after some fine interpassing Hanro-Daniël van der Merwe sped down the right wing and around to the posts for a try. 22-0 after 27 minutes.

It had an air of unreality about it, but Boland Landbou were much sharper than Oakdale.

Boland Landbou attacked JW Snyman, passed to Franna du Toit who passed to Frik Lambrecht who played inside to Du Toit with three minutes to go to half-time and in those three minutes Boland Landbou scored yet another try when Mills dummied and sent De Klerk in for his second try. 32-0.

Boland Landbou attacked to start the second half but Oakdale came back with advancing phases and a tapped penalty, and Trevino Gordon scored. 32-5.

Mills kicked another penalty and then Oakdale tapped a penalty and attacked wide left where Janco Klinck scored the try which Jan Daniël Strydom converted. 35-12

Boland Landbou used a penalty to get a five-metre line-out. They mauled but Jaco Bruwer broke off the maul to score a try which Mills converted, 42-10.

At this stage Boland Landbou lost a player to the sin bin.

Boland Landbou won a turnover and kicked downfield. Fullback Clyde Lewis fielded the ball in his own half and started running, swerving and weaving at speed for a brilliant try. 42-19.

There were 12 minutes to play, ample time for Boland Landbou to add two more tries, the first when Erik Lambrecht broke and Bertus Baard scored and the second when Baard again scored. But this time Oakdale were attacking and he intercepted and ran some 70 metres to score. With the last act of the match, captain Schalk Bezuidenhout converted.

56-19 – an astounding score.


For Boland Landbou:
Tries: Sebastian de Klerk 2, RJ van der Merwe, Hanro-Daniël van der Merwe, Franna du Toit, Jaco Bruwer, Bertus Baard 2
Cons: Gavin Mills 5
Pens: Gavin Mills 2

For Oakdale:
Tries: Trevino Gordon, Janco Klinck, Clyde Lewis
Cons: Jan Daniël Strydom 2


Boland Landbou: 15 Dean Reichert, 14 Hanro-Daniël van der Merwe, 13 Sebastian de Klerk, 12 Erik Lambrecht, 11 Bertus Baard, 10 Franna du Toit, 9 Gavin Mills, 8 JW Snyman, 7 Thys Kitshoff, 6 George-Louis Beukes, 5 Louis-Dirk Human, 4 Schalk Bezuidenhout (captain), 3 RJ van der Merwe, 2 Tehan du Plessis, 1 Hen-Ko Smuts
Coaches: Oloff Bergh, Deon Carstens

Oakdale: 15 Clyde Lewis, 14 Trevino Gordon, 13 Janco Klinck, 12 Etienne Steyn, 11 Joaquin Taute, 10 Jan Daniël Strydom, 9 Derick Jooste, 6 Jaco Bruwer, 7 Henco Beukes, 8 Le Roux Pepler, 5 Hannes Gous (captain), 4 Pierré-Raymond Uys, 3 Pieter Maritz, 2 Keano Hendricks, 1 Magnus Muller
Coaches: Malan du Plessis, André Otto

Referee: Quinton Immelman
Assistant referees: Ryan Deacon, Clarence Khumalo

Results Down the Years

1992: Boland Landbou won 15-6
1993: Oakdale won 26-6
1994: Boland Landbou won 18-11
1995: Oakdale won 19-18
1996: Boland Landbou won 26-0
1997: Oakdale won 26-22
1998: Boland Landbou won 16-12
1999: Draw 23-23
2000: Boland Landbou won 31-7
2001: Boland Landbou won 15-0
2002: Boland Landbou won 14-5
2003: Boland Landbou won 20-12
2004: Boland Landbou won 11-7
2005: Oakdale won 8-6
2006: Boland Landbou won 17-0
2007: Boland Landbou won 27-19
2008: Boland Landbou won 16-8
2010: Oakdale won 3-0
2011: Oakdale won 34-3
2012: Boland Landbou won 38-9
2013: Oakdale won 29-10
2014: Boland Landbou won 13-7
2015: Oakdale won 21-12
2016: Boland Landbou won 27-22
2017: Oakdale won 14-12
2018: Boland Landbou won 56-19

PV: 113

Landbou's Astonishing Win | Rugby365