Tue 4 May 2021 | 08:14

French sweep the boards

French sweep the boards
Tue 4 May 2021 | 08:14
French sweep the boards

EUROPEAN CUP AWARDS: La Rochelle and Toulouse have received added recognition, following their qualification for the Champions Cup Final at Twickenham Stadium.


They dominate the prestigious shortlist for the 2021 EPCR European Player of the Year award.

Antoine Dupont, Jerome Kaino and team captain, Julien Marchand, from four-time tournament winners, Toulouse, all remain in the running for the accolade – after the initial 15 nominees were trimmed to five.

The shortlist is based on the combined verdict of a renowned panel of experts, along with almost 20,000 participants in the public vote.

Meanwhile, first-time tournament finalists, La Rochelle, have Grégory Alldritt and Will Skelton in the shortlist, both having made try-scoring contributions during the impressive semifinal win over Leinster.

EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist

Grégory Alldritt (La Rochelle)
Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)
Jerome Kaino (Toulouse)
Julien Marchand (Toulouse)
Will Skelton (La Rochelle)

Judging Panel – Erik Bonneval, Bryan Habana, Sonja McLaughlan, Alan Quinlan and Dimitri Yachvili.

Roll of Honour
2020 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019 Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018 Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016 Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015 Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014 Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012 Rob Kearney (Leinster)
2011 Sean O’Brien (Leinster)
2010 Ronan O’Gara (Munster – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)


Euro Cup Player of the Year

PV: 11