Thu 26 Apr 2018 | 10:10

VIDEO: Bulls shuffle back row

Bulls coach John Mitchell media briefing ahead of Highlanders
Thu 26 Apr 2018 | 10:10
VIDEO: Bulls shuffle back row

Jenkins will move off the bench to flank in place of the injured Roelof Smit, resulting in a re-shuffled loose trio. Marco van Staden moves back from the back of the scrum in his fetcher role, while Thembelani Bholi moves into No.8, with Jenkins wearing the No.7 shirt for the first time.

Lizo Gqoboka will earn a first start in the Super Rugby competition this year. 

Gqoboka came off the bench in all eight matches so far this season, but with the suspension of Pierre Schoeman, now gets a chance to make an impression in the starting pack.

Gqoboka's bench spot is filled by Conrad van Vuuren, who is back from suspension, while Hendre Stassen comes in for Jenkins and could add to his two caps for the Bulls.

Travis Ismaiel has returned to full match fitness and will start on the bench, replacing Duncan Matthews.

Embrose Papier is also back into the matchday squad at scrumhalf in place of Andre Warner, while Nicholas de Jager is fit again and comes back onto the bench as loose forward replacement.

Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Divan Rossouw, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 John-Ben Kotze, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Thembelani Bholi, 7 Jason Jenkins, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Rudolph Snyman, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Lizo Gqoboka. 
Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Frans van Wyk, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Hendre Stassen, 20 Nicholas de Jager, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Travis Ismaiel.

Date: Saturday, April 28
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 17.15 (03.15 NZ time Sunday, April 29; 15.15 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

PV: 2

Video: Bulls Shuffle Back Row | Rugby365